Relax, Relate, Release…and Repeat

“I don’t want to grow up, I’m a Toys “R” Us kid….”

The copywriter for this classic jingle was a genius for providing a catch phrase that truly resonated with all adults.  As a child I couldn’t wait to grow up and become an adult.  I could only see that being an adult meant you could stay up late, come and go as you pleased and not answer to anyone.  Hearing someone over the “old” age of 25 say being an adult is not all it’s cracked up to be sounded like a lesson presented by the teacher from The Peanuts.

I don’t know about you, but I am stressed.  A lesson I have tried to incorporate into my hectic adult life is one that was taught to us on the highly popular sitcom A Different WorldIn one episode the character Whitley Gilbert meets with a psychiatrist (played by the dynamic Debbie Allen) about her relationship woes.  Viewing audiences learned along with Whitley the art of Relax, Relate, Release.  It’s a mantra that has stayed with me for decades.

I long for the days of my childhood when the biggest challenge of my day was finishing my multiplication homework and if I could get an extra cookie for dessert.  Funny.  We’ve all heard the expression that the word ‘stressed’ is the word ‘dessert’ spelled backwards.  Guess I’ll grab something sweet while I “Relax. Relate. Release.”

Leave a Reply

