Role Play

We all have roles in our family.  I am the youngest of three.  I am the baby sister.  I am also the little cousin to my maternal first cousin Andréa.  I am two years younger than Andréa and when we were kids we’d like to play “restaurant.”  We’d go around and take food orders and attempt to create meals for our family members.  Our culinary skills were limited.  I recall we primarily made scrambled eggs and fried hot dogs, and maybe BLT sandwiches.  I found it funny though that it took the two of us to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  My aunt still likes to tell the story that the art of spreading the jelly was my forte and the role of applying the creamy peanut butter to the Wonder Bread went to my cousin.   In honor of today being National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day, I wanted to pay homage to this sweet little memory.    

   

 

One thought on “Role Play

Leave a Reply

