Raisinets and Popcorn

There is something about a salty-sweet combination that is so satisfying.  I love sitting in a dark movie theater enjoying a bag/box/tub of hot buttered popcorn mixed with Raisinets.  Some prefer adding M&Ms or Milk Duds, but whatever the combo of chocolate and salt it is always a home run for me.  Like a lot of children, I was introduced to dipping my McDonald’s french fries into my vanilla milkshake.  I don’t frequent the golden arches that much anymore but I recently relived my childhood with that exact order and it still provided me with a guilty pleasure.

A couple other combinations I’ve been known to indulge: Chicken salad on a cinnamon raisin bagel and I found this southwestern chunky salsa that I really love and used it over pasta when I realized I didn’t have any tomato sauce.  It was rather tasty.  A friend of mine mentioned putting cranberry sauce instead of jelly on biscuits, which I never thought of but I imagine would be yummy. 

What unconventional food combinations do you enjoy?  I’ve never crushed potato chips and put them on a hoagie like Dr. Huxtable on The Cosby Show, but I have taken a cue from another popular sitcom with this food combo:

Peter Brady’s pork chops and applesauce bit is legendary.  But maybe you prefer the “pixie stick-Cap’n Crunch” sandwich from The Breakfast Club:

Here’s one last delicacy to chomp on.  This scene from the movie Elf will give you a cavity just from viewing it.  I will leave you with Will Farrell’s character Buddy creating the concoction of spaghetti with maple syrup, chocolate syrup, pop tarts, mints, M&M’s, and sprinkles.  Mangia!

3 thoughts on “Raisinets and Popcorn

Leave a Reply

