Lionel Richie

Because I’m truly
Truly in love with you girl
I’m truly head over heels with your love
I need you, and with your love I’m free
And truly, you know you’re all I, really need

Those classic lyrics by Lionel Richie leave me saying that I am truly in love with his song writing skills.  This song was his first #1 hit from his debut self-titled solo album in 1982 after his illustrious career with The Commodores.

Today is his birthday and I want to shine the spotlight on the man I believe is the most successful go-to balladeer.  Now he has expanded his star power with his country album, Tuskegee, which has outsold his last three studio albums combined.  I guess that trumps the words of “Three Times a Lady” with three times his album sales!  As Lionel would say, a la his favorite phrase from the 1984 American Music Awards:

That’s outrageous!

*In 1979 President Jimmy Carter decreed that June would be Black Music Month.  Three decades later in 2009 President Barack Obama revamped the title and declared June African-American Music Appreciation Month.  Each day this month I am turning up the volume on an artist or song brought to you by the letter R.  Enjoy!*

3 thoughts on “Lionel Richie

Leave a Reply

