Words from Rumi

One of my favorite blogs is called Creative Noshing, which provides yummy recipes and well written tales.  Today’s Creative Noshing highlighted a poem by Rumi called “The Guest House” that struck a chord with the author and subsequently resonated with me.  You can read it here, and I found a few more Rumi poems that I wanted to pass along.  Enjoy!

The minute I heard my first love story,

I started looking for you, not knowing

how blind that was.

Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere,

they’re in each other all along.

When I am with you, we stay up all night,

When you’re not here, I can’t get to sleep.

Praise God for these two insomnias!

And the difference between them.

When the sweet glance of my true love caught my eyes,

Like alchemy, it transformed my copper-like soul.

I searched for Him with a thousand hands,

He stretched out His arms and clutched my feet.

2 thoughts on “Words from Rumi

Leave a comment