Rounded Perfection

When I lived in New York I worked for Oxygen Media inside Chelsea Market, which is built in the former National Biscuit Company factory where the Oreo cookie was invented and produced.  Chelsea Market is a great place to go for food and shopping, plus around every corner there is a window into the past.  Traces of the old Nabisco factory are on display, which gives the two-block complex such a cool historical feel.  I often wondered if there had been studies on what it says about you based on your method for eating an Oreo cookie.  I know I’ve enjoyed them:

  • whole
  • dipped in milk
  • pulled apart so the cream could be licked
  • pulled apart so the cream could be scraped off either with your teeth or with the un-creamed cookie
  • crumbled on top of other sweet treats
  • as the cookies for ice cream sandwiches

I think that makes me an average Oreo eater.  I have yet to have one deep-fried.  I need to add that to my to-do list along with trying out the Oreo creations at The Donut Pub and the Hill Country Chicken.  These two Manhattan hot spots were featured on CBS Sunday Morning by one of my favorite comedians/political satirists Mo Rocca. This weekend he had the best assignment to explore the world of the Oreo as it celebrates it centennial.  Not a bad day’s work paying homage to Nabisco’s little darling of a cookie.  The Oreo is still yummy, going strong and looking good for 100.  Now if I could just get a couple Double Stuf and a cold glass of milk I’d be a happy camper.

One thought on “Rounded Perfection

Leave a comment